I just got Twitter & I’m scared…kinda not really.

There was a time when I said, “I will NEVER get Twitter. FUCK THAT SHIT.”

Damn, times change and another reason why “Never say never” is the truest form of contradiction.

I’ve always been a little scared of technology and the WWW.  I’ve been called a “cave woman” before.  I felt that rapid technological advancements:

1) warped social evolution to go backwards (less talking, more typing..byebye touchy feely face).

2) dramatically developed a strange 6th human sense: HUNGER for FAME (Vanity strikes the YouTube revolution…the self-telecast, self-made, self-proclaimed celebrity.)

3) resulted in the subconscious surrender of human privacy.


All this was scary to me and I didn’t want to be part of it.  I don’t always like talking about myself, I just want the product to speak for itself.  On top of everything, if any of you caught “My Very Honest Post”, you’d know that I was victim to a very serious, schizophrenic and delusional stalker (literally).  I still am, because that MFer never got put away.  So I take privacy, trust and personal space are all very seriously.  For a good chunk of time, I was in hiding–from the stalker, from everyone around me, from my family, from the world, from myself.  I won’t divulge too much because I know the stalker is reading.  But anyways, back to technology and the voluntary surrender of privacy, people are starting to give up their personal information, then their photos, NOW, even all their THOUGHTS.  It was disturbing to me.  We used to complain about the Patriot Act and the U.S. government fucking with all our privacy rights; now, the government doesn’t even have to try to be all up in our business.  We willingly give it up without knowing how much of ourselves we are exposing.

I STILL am a very private and reserved person.  To be an artist, I need to put myself and my work out there if I want to reach as many people as possible.  It’s a twisted dilemma.  As I come out of “my cave” and away from “hiding”, I’m learning how to trust the world again.  I absolutely DO want to be connected with the world.  That’s the beautiful thing about technology.  I’m understanding how to function in my role as a grounded human being in this technologically advancing world.  I just don’t want to lose myself in the digital vortex.

So “Follow Me” but not really… twitter.com/ThisFirstLady

Leave a comment

Filed under Believe Me Ego, Essays on the Good, the Bad and the Ugly

Leave a Reply

